BREAKING: APC takes over Ekiti Assembly, Speaker impeached, 12 members suspended

Less than seven days to the end of the tenure of Governor Ayodele Fayose, the Ekiti State House of Assembly has impeached its Speaker, Kola Oluwawole and his deputy, Sina Animasahun.

Members then elected and swore in Ebenezer Alagbada as new speaker and reinstated former deputy speaker, Segun Adewunmi.

Gboyega Aribisogan was elected minority leader and Sunday Akinniyi who just defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), was made the minority leaders.

In what resulted into an APC dominated house, the Assembly also announced the suspension of 12 members. They are:

1.Rt. Hon. Kola Oluwawole,
2. Rt. Hon Shina Animasahun
3. Dr. Omotoso Samuel
4. Hon. Wale Onigiobi
5. Hon. Wale Ayeni
6. Hon. Dare Pelemọ
7. Hon. Jeje Samuel
8. Hon Akinleye Dayo
9. Hon. Fajemilehin Ayodele.
10. Hon. Fasanmi Temitope
11. Hon. Tunji Akinyele
12. Hon. Sanya Aladeyelu

The process was carried out on Thursday by 14 members of the house.

Oluwawole, has however described his purported impeachment as a rape on democracy and as the lowest level of lawlessness and illegality.

According to a statement by his Special Assistant on Media, Stephen Gbadamosi, Oluwawole said those who carried out the illegality were provided police cover and they prevented other members and even staff of the House from gaining entrance into the complex.

To Top