Buhari appoints Ambode, Okowa, others, as National Food Security Council members

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the constitution of a National Food Security Council whose members include state governors of Lagos, Delta, Kebbi, Taraba, Plateau and Ebonyi States.

The Council, to be chaired by the President, will be inaugurated on Monday.

A statement his media aide, Garba Shehu, said other members of the counci, include the Secretary to the Government of the Federation; the Chief of Staff to the President; the National Security Adviser and seven (7) cabinet Ministers. The Ministers to be represented are for Agriculture and Rural Development; Finance; Interior; Industry, Trade and Investment; Water Resources; Environment; and Budget and National Planning.

The statement also said: “The National Food Security Council will also have as Members, the Chief of Defence Staff; the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; the Directors-General of the Department of State Services and the National Intelligence Agency as well as the Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Immigration Service.

“The broad objectives of the Council will include, developing sustainable solutions to the farmers–herdsmen clashes; Climate Change and Desertification and their impact on farmland; grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies; oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta Fishing Communities; piracy and banditry; agricultural research institutions and extension services and the problem of smuggling.

“The Council will also take interest in regional and global policies and trends that bear implications for food security in Nigeria”.


To Top