Buhari having sleepless nights – Oyegun

National chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), John-Odigie Oyegun, said on Tuesday that President Muhammadu Buhari is having sleepless nights thinking about how he can improve the economy and the lives of Nigerians.

He sai the people want President Buhari to continue in office beyond 2019.

Oyegun said this during a mega rally organized to welcome defectors from other parties​ at the Umuahia Township Stadium in Abia State.

‎At the event, the APC chairman declared that ​the party​ has proven that it was better than the ousted PDP administration as the country has been restored to “the path of economic growth”.

“There is no question we have some hardship in the land but every minute Buhari is working to rebuild the foundation of Nigeria,” Oyegun said.

Oyegun expressed joy that the president “has changed the narrative with the massive standard gauge railway system being built to connect other parts of the country”.

He further said that the administration had made a quantum leap on power generation, saying that with the current 7000 megawatts, the country would soon begin to enjoy stable power.

On agriculture, the APC chairman expressed delight that Nigeria had become self-sufficient in rice production due to Federal Government’s pragmatic policy on rice.

“So the message I am giving you is that the bad days are coming to an end. The good days are beginning by the end of this year,” he said.

He promised to relay to the president the message from the people of Abia State urging him (Buhari) to run for a second term.

Among politicians who ​joined the ruling party were former governor of Abia, Dr Orji Uzor Kalu, ​ex-Speaker​, ​Abia House of Assembly, Chief Martins Azubuike (PDP) (Isialangwa north constituency), former Deputy Gov. Chris Akomas (Progressive Peoples Alliance), former PDP governorship aspirant, Chief Uche Ogah, and retired Deputy Inspector-General of Police, Chief Azubuko Udah.

Others defectors were four members of the state house of assembly​ -​ Chief Ikedi Ezekwesiri (APGA) (Umunneochi constituency), Minority Leader, Chief Solomon Okogbuo (APGA) (Bende south constituency) and Chief Theophelus Ugboajah (APGA) (Ikwuano constituency).

To Top