List of Shiite Muslims killed in clashes with soldiers in Abuja within 4 days

The Islamic Movement of Nigeria has released names of 34 bodies so far identified amongst the over 40 of its members allegedly killed by Nigerian soldiers within four days.

The Shiites were killed in protests and processions that occurred on October 27, 29 and 30 around Abuja. They are demanding the release of their leader, Ibrahim el-Zakzaky, who has remained in detenrion for over two years despite multiple court pronouncements ordering his unconditional release.

Photos and videos of the incidents showed soldiers opening fire on the protesters. Some of the protesters were also seen thowing stones at the soldiers.

READ: Soldiers, Shiites clash again in Nyanya, Abuja

The October 27 protest took place in Zuba, a suburb of the capital city. The October 29 clash occured on Mararaba-Old Karu road, just southeast of Abuja. The IMN members were using the October 29 rally to commemorate the death anniversary of Imam Hussein, a grandson of Prophet Muhammad, while also demanding immediate release of el-Zakzaky.

The killings on October 30 occurred in Wuse 2, a commercial and residential neighbourhood at the heart of Abuja.

Some of the protesters were arrested and are still in police custody.

Below the list of the deceased Shiites as published by Premium Times and as received from the IMN representatives. Their states of origin are in parenthesis.

1. Abdulaziz Ibrahim (Maigana, Kaduna State)
2. Rabi’u Abdulwahab (Malumfashi, Katsina State)
3. Minka’ilu Shu’aibu (Kudan, Kaduna State)
4. Muhammad Hussain (Sokoto, Sokoto State)
5. Abdu Dijana (Suleja, Niger State)
6. Ukasha Dayyabu (Madalla, Niger State)
7. Faru’q Ahmad Garba
8. Sulaima SK
9. Muhammad Soje
1.) Fatima Yahaya Musa
11. Malam Abu Qasim (Gaji, Bauchi State)
12. Surajo Adam (Garu, Borno State)
13. Ja’afar Yusuf (Keffi, Nasarawa State)
14. Saeed Adamu (Awe, Nasarawa State)
16. Lawal Ibrahim (Tudun Baushe Maraban Kafanchan, Kaduna State)
17. Kamal Muhammad Haruna (Kaduna, Kaduna State)
18. Al-Kasim Minka’il
19. Huzaifa Musa
20. Abdulaziz Haruna (Bauchi, Bauchi State)
21. Muhammad Sani Awwal (Bauchi, Bauchi State)
22. Zangina Muhammad Garba (Bauchi, Bauchi State)
23. Isma’il Shu’aibu Alramma (Bauchi, Bauchi State)
24. Aliuu Munnir (Mutum Biyu, Taraba State)
25. Hamisu Muhammad (Zaria, Kaduna State)
26. Abbas Muhammad
27. Munnir Muhammad (Samaru Zaria, Kaduna State)
28. Sa’id Zubairu (Maraba Abuja, FCT)
29. Abdullahi Sabo Muhammad (Yauri, Kebbi State)
30. Umar Abdullahi
31. Mansur Lawal (Bauchi, Bauchi State)
32. Umar Abdullahi Dogon Haris (Adamawa State)
33. Abubakar Dadda’u (Gombe, Gombe State)
34. Imrana Abdullahi.

The group said most of them have been buried in Zaria, Kaduna State, while family members took bodies of some of them.

To Top