Oyo 2019

Oyo ADC silent on “automatic tickets” as 13 governorship aspirants battle on Thursday

The African Democratic Congress (ADC) in Oyo state is set to hold its governorship primary election on Thursday with 13 aspirants jostling for the party’s ticket ahead of the 2019 election.

The governorship aspirants are: Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, Barrister Sarafadeen Abiodun Alli, Dr. Muhammed Kola Balogun, Engr. Rauf Aderemi Olaniyan, Chief Ayodele Adigun,and Dr. Yunus Akintunde.

Others include: Ambassador Taofeek Arapaja, Senator Gbenga Babalola, Dr. Nureni Aderemi Adeniran, Mr. Oluseye Opatoki, Chief Festus Adegoke, Barrister Lowo Obisesan, and Engr. Aderemi Oseni.

Speaking at an interactive session between state ADC leaders and aspirants in Ibadan on Monday, chairman of the party in the state, Dr. Hammed Ayinla, revealed that there are 12 Senatorial aspirants jostling for party’s tickets for the three Senatorial Districts of the state.

The Oyo ADC Chairman added that there are 55 Federal House of Representatives aspirants and 150 state House of Assembly aspirants have obtained nomination forms of the political party.

He did not clarify reports that the serving lawmakers who recently joined the party woukd get automatic tickets to return to their seats on the party’s platform. When asked about it by journalists, the party chairma said: “That’s our internal issue”

But he urged all aspirants for various political offices on the platform of the political party not to see the contest for ADC tickets as a do -or – die affair.

He assured that the Oyo ADC executives will ensure that the process of choosing party’s candidates is credible and transparent.


To Top