Oyo 2019

Oyo APC receives new members from PDP, SDP, others

No fewer than 500 decampees from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Labour Party (LP) were at the weekend, welcomed into the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo state.

The new members who were led by Alhaji Lukman Alagbala and Hon. Ayo Ayansiji, were received during the general local government meeting of the party at Itesiwaju Local Government Area of the state. The meeting was held at the Community Primary School, Okaka in the local government.

They said their decision to join the governing party was based on the party’s achievements and democratic principles.

The APC Chairman in the local government Alhaji Dhikrullah Osuolale Awoleye, congratulated them, saying they took the decision for thier political careers.

The Chairman of the local government, Hon. Niyi Adeagbo, who was also present at the occasion, said he was not surprised about their decision given the monumental achievements of the Governor Abiola Ajimobi’s administration in the state in the last seven years.

He pointed out that the progressive ideals guiding the party in the state would be sustained as the APC steers the ship of the state to enviable heights.

The APC governorship aspirant from the area, who is currently the Commissioner for Lands, Housing and Survey, Mr Ajiboye Omodewu, assured the crowd of new members of equal opportunities in the party.

Applaudng the quality and calibre of the decampees, Omodewu emphasized that Ajimobi’s achievements were attracting members of other parties into the APC.

His Works and Transport counterpart, Mr Wasiu Dauda also assured the new members of a level-playing ground while enjoining them to follow the party’s constitution and work on other hesitant opposition members towards joining the APC fold.

The Commissioners were accompanied to the meeting by the immediate past council secretaries for Itesiwaju LGA, Araromi LCDA and Irepodun LCDA – Hon. Ibrahim Taofeek (Barrywhite), Hon. Awodele Toyin and Hon. Olalekan Sanni respectively; former Special Assistant to Governor Abiola Ajimobi – Hon. Dejo Adebisi; and many other notable politicians.

Party elders present at the event included Dr. Yekeen Abdulazeez, Nurudeen Hameed SB, Alhaji Oloyede, Chief Ogundokun Odofin, Prince J. I. Oladosun, Shola Oguntona, Chief Sakariyau Mustapha, Okegbemi Wale Oludegun and Amos Falolu.

To Top