Oyo places restriction on vehicular movement on Saturday, May 12 for LG polls

Ahead of Saturday May 12 local government elections in Oyo State, the state Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) on Wednesday announced that there would be restriction of vehicular movements across the state during the polls.

The restriction starts at 8:00 am and ends 3:00 pm.

The commission said that students sitting for the National Board of Technical Examination (NABTEB) with proof will be allowed up to 8: 00 am to move to their examination centres.

The commission explained that election will hold in the 33 local government areas and 35 Local Councils Development Areas (LCDAs). It urged the public to exercise their rights by casting their votes to their preferred candidates.

The election is coming 11 years after the last one conducted by former governor Rashidi Ladoja’s administration.

Whike candidates of the All Progressives Congress have been campaigning, members of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party have decided to boycott the polls saying they would not validate illegality by participating in an election into the 35 LCDAs which it described as unconstitutional.

The Alliance for Democracy (AD) on its own part, said it doubts the sincerity of the APC government in conducting a free and fair election.

To Top