Senate confirms 7 RECs nominated by Buhari, drops 2

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed seven out of the nine Resident Electoral Commissioners of INEC nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The confirmed RECs are:

  1. Baba Abba Yusuf (Borno)
  2. Dr. Uthman Abdulrahman Ajidagba (Kwara)
  3. Mr. Segun Agbaje (Ekiti)
  4. Dr. Cyril Omorogbe (Edo)
  5. Yahaya Bello (Nasarawa)
  6. Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart (Rivers)
  7. Mohammed Mogaji Ibrahim (Gombe)

While presenting his report, Chairman of the Senate Committee on INEC, Senator Suleiman Nazif, said the remaining two nominees did not scale through the screening.

According to him, Eric Olawale from Osun State did not appear for the screening while Elder Monday Udoh Tom from Akwa-Ibom was stepped down for further consultation.

Speaking after the confirmation, Senate President Bukola Saraki said: “I want to congratulate the newly confirmed Resident Electoral Commissioners. This has come at a very important time before the 2019 elections, to sustain electoral processes in the country that will meet global standards”.

To Top