Sheriff named DG of Buhari 2019 Presidential Support Committee

Former chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ali Modu Sheriff, has been named the Director-General of “Buhari 2019 presidential support committee”.

This was disclosed in a statement on Friday by Gideon Sammani, senior special assistant to the president on political matters.

“In preparation for the reelection of President Buhari in 2019, the Presidential Support Committee, Buhari 2019 has appointed eminent Nigerians to the national working committee of the organisation,” the statement read.

“The prominent individuals were selected after the APC national convention to build on the momentum of the success to step up preparation within the hierarchy and ranks and file of the party to fully support President Muhammadu Buhari to continue with his programmes and policies for the upliftment and advancement of the country with the manifesto of the APC.”

The committee is made up of 35 members in the support committee, 10 in the national advisory committee, five members of national patrons with Buhari as the grand patron.

He added that the individuals were selected from Buhari Support Group “in their own rights as loyalists.”

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Boss Mustapha, secretary to government of the federation, Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the APC, are among the national patrons of the committee.

Members of the national advisory committee are M.T Mbu, Yerima Bakura, George Akume, Abdullahi Adamu, Ita Giwa, Gudaji Kazaure, Hajiya Ireti, Ismaila Isa Funtua and Abu Ibrahim.

Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation, is the director-general of the Buhari Campaign Organisation (BCO).

To Top