Spain releases 23-man World Cup squad, Morata, Fabregas, miss out (SEE FULL SQUAD)

Chelsea striker Alvaro Morata will miss the Russia 2018 World Cup after being left out of Spain’s 23-man World Cup squad.

The 25-year-old scored 11 goals in his debut season at Stamford Bridge and was a last-minute substitute in Saturday’s FA Cup final win.

Coach Julen Lopetegui named four Premier League players in his squad. They are David De Gea (Manchester United) David Silva (Manchester City) Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea) and Nacho Monreal (Arsenal).

Below is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Pepe Reina (Napoli), David de Gea (Manchester United), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao)

Defenders: Nacho Fernandez, Sergio Ramos, Dani Carvajal (all Real Madrid), Gerard Pique, Jordi Alba (both FC Barcelona), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Cesar Azpilicueta (both Chelsea)

Midfielders: Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets (both FC Barcelona), Saul Niguez, Koke (both Atletico Madrid), Isco, Marco Asensio (both Real Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City)

Forwards: Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Rodrigo (Valencia), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid)

Spain’s first match at the world cup would be against Euro champions, Portugal, on June 15.



To Top