Senate confirms Aisha Ahmad, Edward Adamu as CBN Deputy Governors, disqualifies one MPC nominee

The Senate has confirmed the appointments of Mrs. Aisha Ahmad and Mr. Edward Adamu as Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

It also approved the nomination of three out of four members of the Monetary Policy Committee. They are: Prof. Adeola Festus Adenikinju, Dr. Aliyu Rafindadi Sanusi and Dr. Robert Chikwendu Asogwa. The 4th nominee, Dr. Asheikh A. Maidugu, was rejected.

The confirmation followed the adoption of the reports by the Senate Committee ‎on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions, which screened the nominees last week.

Chairman of the committee, Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, in his report said the panel considered Maidugu not qualified to occupy the position for which he was nominated.

To Top