Oyo 2019

INEC yet to recognise Lanlehin as Oyo ADC governorship candidate

Despite the declaration of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) that its governorship candidate in Oyo State for the 2019 election is Senator Olufemi Lanlehin, he is yet to be recognized by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

INEC released the names of all the 37 candidates and the party’s vying for governorship in the state on Friday but Dr. Dele Ajadi was listed as the ADC candidate and not Lanlehin.

The development may be an indication that the logjam in the party is yet to be resolved.

Ajadi’s name was submitted to INEC last month during the crisis as a temporary measure and to secure the spot with INEC which had threatened to sanction parties that failed to submit names of candidates before the deadline for primaries.

READ: FULL LIST of Oyo governorship candidates for 2019 as published by INEC

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the party last week declared that Senator Olufemi Lanlehin remains the party’s governorship candidate even though Dr. Nureni Adeniran emerged in a concensus election approved for the 13 aspirants of the party as part of moves to resolve the crisis over who flies the party’s flag in 2019.

ADC National Chairman, Chief Ralph Nwosu, who addressed journalists in Abuja after a meeting of the party’s NWC, had insisted that Lanlehin was the party’s candidate.

He also explained why Adeniran can not fly the party’s flag in spite of the outcome of the consensus election.

READ ALSO: Oyo 2019: ADC exco explains why Adeniran can’t be governorship candidate, re-affirms Lanlehin’s candidacy

His words: “In line with our earlier statement on the issue of ADC’s gubernatorial candidate in Oyo State, the National Working Committee wishes to announce that Senator Olufemi Lanlehin remains the gubernatorial candidate of ADC in Oyo State. We have had to revisit the issue to ensure that we accommodate all concerns from various quarters. We have had meetings with all the stakeholders of our dear party, including aspirants at all levels of elective positions.

“This was meant to ensure that the choice of Senator Lanlehin satisfied the aspirations of all party leaders, members and stakeholders of our great party, including a broad spectrum of the good people of Oyo State. Following the deliberations and consultations, the party’s decision on Senator Lanlehin has been ascertained to be the best for ADC and especially the good people of Oyo State. All the polls taken so far have pointed to the fact that Lanlehin is the Oyo State Governor in waiting.”

It would be recalled that the NWC took a definite decision to settle the lingering crisis over who flies the party’s flag in the 2019 governorship election in the state. Lanlehin’s initial choice had threatened to tear the party apart with court cases, in-fighting and looming defections.

The aspirants had accused the state party leaders which include former governor Rashidi Ladoja and Chief Michael Koleoso of injustice and imposition.

The 12 aggrieved aspirants had earlier approached a Federal High Court in Abuja, seeking the nullification of Lanlehin’s candidature as illegal arguing that his emergence was unknown to the party’s constitution.



To Top